[Topper’s Interview] Gaurav Singh Sogarwal (Rank-99/CSE-2015) Hindi Medium, Sanskrit Optional, Hails from Rajasthan

Gaurav Singh Sogarwal

[Topper’s Interview] Gaurav Singh Sogarwal (Rank-99/CSE-2015) Hindi Medium, Sanskrit Optional, Hails from Rajasthan

  1. Candidate Profile
  2. Educations
  3. Introduction
  4. Electronic Vs Paper material
  5. TeMpo and style
  6. Struggle of a Senior player
  7. Working professional
  8. Prelims (CSAT) General studies
  9. Prelims (CSAT) Aptitude
  10. Prelim accuracy
  11. Q2. Approximate no. of attempted answers vs. correct answers. in CSAT-2014
  12. Mains: Compulsory language paper
  13. Mains: Essay
  14. General Studies (Mains) paper 1
  15. General studies (Mains) paper 2
  16. General studies (Mains) Paper 3
  17. General Studies 4: Ethics, Integrity, aptitude
  18. Mains answer-writing?
  19. Mains Optional Subject
  20. Before the interview
  21. During the interview
  22. CSE-2015 Marksheet
  23. Career Backup
  24. Views on UPSC reforms
  25. Insecurity about profile
  26. Wisdom
  27. Credit: Friends/family
  28. BOGUS Marketing Propaganda

Candidate Profile

Q. Details
Name Gaurav Singh Sogarwal
Rank in CSE-2015 99
Roll No. 0399914
Age 27
Total attempts in CSE (including this one) 3
Optional Subject Sanskrit
Schooling Medium Hindi
College medium English
Medium chosen for Mains answers Hindi
Medium chosen for Interview Hindi
Home town/city Bharatpur, Rajasthan
Work-experience if any Etoos Academy Kota, Narayana IIT academy Delhi
Details of other competitive exams, including success/failures Assistant commandant
Details of coaching, mock tests, postal material for any competitive exam (if used) Panini IAS (Kailash Bihari sir), Sanskrit; ignited minds (Amit sir)- Ethics and K D Sir (Nirman IAS ) for interview
Service preferences (Top-5) IAS- IPS- IFS
state cadre preference (Top-5) Rajasthan, MP, UP
BLOG gauravsogarwal.wordpress.com


% in class 10 90
% in class 12 78
 Graduation course and % BE electrical engineering, 74
Name of college, city, passing out year Bharati Vidhyapeeth
Any other professional courses
Hobbies & Extracurricular achievements Reading spiritual books, following startups and social service


Q. Tell us something about yourself, your family, when and why did you enter in this field of competitive exams?
Gaurav Singh Sogarwal

I was born in a rural family with agricultural back ground and completed my schooling from a Hindi medium school.
Two major events that changed me and my family’s entire life were the demise of my mother in 1991 and my father in 2002.
I was 3 years old when my mother passed away. From 1991-1997 I was bought up by my father after which he married again. I received the motherly love from my second mother who played the role of Yashoda in my life.
Life once again showed its hardship in 2002 when my father expired I was then 14 years old with the responsibility of my mother, elder sister and younger brother.
When my father deceased I was in class 10th preparing for my board exams and I was completely broken. The values my parents inculcated in me and my siblings helped me to come out of that situation and fought strongly. My father was my inspiration It was his dream that I prepare for civil services and today I am glad that I have fulfilled his dream. If he would have been here he would be the happiest person.

Since childhood the necessities to fulfill the requirements of my family was on me. We had a small farm not sufficient to survive. Though my father was a Govt. school teacher and we had his pension as an option, it took one year to come which too was a slight amount. I used to do all the labour work, agricultural work, household work and manage all the emotional traumas. Life was full of challenges and becoming an IAS seemed impossible. But it was the dream of my father which encouraged me to move on and fight for my ultimate goal. Whenever I felt discouraged I used to remember my father which was the biggest motivational factor in my life.
The struggle continued but I managed to join the college. I did my college from Pune (most fascinating City in India) but for me challenges were no less as I had to manage the study expenses of my brother and sister, household expenses and my college expenses.
In order to raise the finances in college my daily schedule was to wake up at 5:00am to take tuitions for school children, return by 9:30 am and then get ready for college. My college timings were from 10:30am to 5:30pm in between that time I used to complete my college assignments as again I had to go to take tuitions from 6:00pm. I used to return to my hostel by 9:30 at night.
When other students were enjoying their college life I was living the life of a guardian. The main challenge came in my final year when I had to choose between college placement and civil services. I chose civil services it was a tough decision as I had no finance.
After passing the college to raise funds I started taking coaching classes in Narayana Out Academy, Delhi. As a part of my preparation for civil services I started visiting religious places of UPSC Mythology-Mukherjee Nagar and Rajinder Nagar. Then a great thing happened I got a call from ETOOS coaching institute, Kota and they offered me an annual package of 20 lacs (approx.). This was a huge amount which boosted my confidence and helped me to pay off some of my debts. I started teaching at that institute and at the same time I was in contact with my Delhi friends who were preparing for the exam (civil services).
I taught there for 2 years so that I could become financially stable. In the mean while I arranged my sister’s marriage and my brother’s MBA now I was a bit relaxed. I was earning good here but was not satisfied, my destiny was calling me I discontinued the contract and bought the contract period.
From here the main journey started. I stayed at Mukherjee Nagar with little money that would help me to survive for 6-7 months. I persuaded my preparation and when I faced financial crisis I started taking home tuitions. Delhi helped me in that as these are in demand here.
I qualified the Assistant Commandant examination and secured my career. Hence devoted full time for the examination.
One funny and serious incident happened which I would like to share-
I cleared mains in 2015 and my interview was scheduled on 6th April but my BSF training was starting from 29th Feb. So I applied for extension till 11th April. Due to certain events I reached academy on 12th April. I thought that they will give some minor punishment and I will continue my training but I misjudged the BSF rules and they denied me to join the training. I was relieved from my academy. I had cleared the Assistant Commandant exam in July 2014 and was relaxed that I have a job, now this was gone just because of 1 day. I was completely shattered and felt that I was the unluckiest person on this planet. I went to Delhi and contacted BSF DG sir. I told him about my problem and after many ups and down he finally allowed me to join the academy. On 10th May morning I joined the training and on the very same day I got the news that I cleared the Civil Services Exam (according to a friend I attained Moksha).
Please don’t try to this kind of mistakes in your life.

Share this post